Which secret chat apps should you know?

Apps / software Telegram: Secret Chat

display

The Telegram app is a good alternative to WhatsApp. However, not all messages in Telegram are end-to-end encrypted, only the so-called secret chats. Secret chats are specially secured and cannot be viewed by anyone but the two participants.All secret chats in the Telegram are device-specific and do not belong to the Telegram cloud. This means that you can only access messages in a secret chat from their original device.

Create secret chat in Telegram

It is important that both participants in the secret chat have the latest version of Telegram installed. Otherwise the secret chat will not work. In the following we explain how to set up a secret chat on the iPhone and on Android smartphones.

On the iPhone

  1. Open one Chatyou want to use as a secret chat and tap the in the top right corner profile pic.
  2. Tap on the three dots labeled "More"And then on"Start secret chat“.
  3. The other participant must have the Confirm receipt of the messagebefore the secret chat really comes off.

On Android devices

  1. Open the Chat list and press the Pen iconto write a new message.
  2. Tap on "New secret chat". Choose a receiver and write him a message.
  3. After the other participant has the Receipt of the message confirmed the secret chat is active and can be used by both of you.

tip: If you are unsure whether your chat is actually secured, you can compare "secret keys". This is a code that varies for each secret chat. Tap the other chat participant's profile picture and press "Secret Key". Now you can compare the secret key of your chat partner with your own key. If they are identical, the chat is safe.

Time limit messages

In addition to end-to-end encryption, the secret chats have implemented another security aspect. You can set messages only available for a limited time are. On iOS devices, you have to click the Stopwatch in the text field tap. For Android devices, select in the chat Profile picture above out. Now you can at "Self-destruct timer"Set how long the message should be displayed after the recipient has read it. Please note that the timer does not start until the message has been read.